Module 4: Trust yourself “Tiwala lang”

Just trust “ Tiwala lang”

 No one knows the real you but you. Sometimes it is true that we don’t know ourselves. That’s because we have lost ourselves, or maybe because we never knew ourselves to begin with.

 From my previous experiences, when I was a child, growing up and receive a lot of conflicting and negative messages from my “kababata” and family, with these experiences I felt confused of who really I am, what am I supposed to be here. There are times that I want to give my decision and my parents keep on saying not to do that way, but they don’t even one single instances to explain why? From those experiences, I learned not to trust my ability to make a good decision because the people in my life did not validate my view of reality. I often ask people, friends, and relatives on what to do.

When I grew up, put me to realize and was telling myself that my opinion didn’t matter. I valued others opinion above my own, I feel something in my mind that I have something to be proud of.

After reading the module of social learning theory, I realized that what I felt is part of environmental challenges that affects my personal behaviour, perhaps that will make me better person as well. I have learnt things through my experiences and learn to value what I have. From then, I believe in myself that I can do that, even without support from my parents, I can make it my own way. “ Pag may tiwala sa sarili may mararating”. As what Psychologist Albert Bandura in his social learning theory, that self-effectiveness / self-efficacy is developed from external experiences and self-perception is influential in determining the outcome of many events and this represents the personal perception of external social factors. People observe others acting within an environment whether natural or social. These observations are remembered by an individual and help shape social behaviors and cognitive processes. This theoretical approach proposes the idea that by changing how an individual learns their behaviors in the early stages of mental development could have a large impact on their mental processes in later stages of development. Clearly stated that self-efficacy is within us, it is our responsibility to use and to develop in it.

Self-efficacy is formed in part through the four major psychological processes, cognitive, motivational, affective and selection. Cognitiveà higher the efficacy, higher the goals, then, when high goal is reached, efficacy is higher. Beliefs in efficacy shape the types of anticipatory scenarios they form and rehearse.  People with high self-efficacy visualize successful scenarios which support their performance.  People who doubt their efficacy visualize failure scenarios and dwell on what could go wrong.  Self-fulfilling prophesy.  Self-efficacy beliefs influence fundamental attributions. People who regard themselves as highly efficacious attribute their failures to insufficient effort, those who regard themselves as inefficacious attribute their failures to low ability. Causal attributions affect motivation, performance and affective reactions mainly through beliefs of self-efficacy. Self-efficacy beliefs contribute to motivation in several ways: They determine the goals people set for them; how much effort they expend; how long they persevere in the face of difficulties; and their resilience to failures. When faced with obstacles and failures people who harbor self-doubts about their capabilities slacken their efforts or give up quickly. Those who have a strong belief in their capabilities exert greater effort when they fail to master the challenge. Strong perseverance contributes to performance accomplishments. A low sense of efficacy to exercise control produces depression as well as anxiety. It does so in several different ways. One route to depression is through unfulfilled aspiration. People who impose on themselves standards of self-worth they judge they cannot attain drive themselves to bouts of depression. A second efficacy route to depression is through a low sense of social efficacy. Perceived self-efficacy to control thought processes is a key factor in regulating thought produced stress and depression. It is not the sheer frequency of disturbing thoughts but the perceived inability to turn them off that is the major source of distress. Both perceived coping self-efficacy and thought control efficacy operate jointly to reduce anxiety and avoidant behavior. People avoid activities and situations they believe exceed their coping capabilities. People undertake challenging activities and select situations they consider themselves capable of handling.

As a student of UPOU, why is my self-efficacy is important? This will play an important role in my academic achievement. This will relates my first day as a student of PTC, using virtual classroom is quite challenging since, I have never been used this before so, my self-efficacy of this event is not yet developed, as I go along the program, I find that I can use it easily, meaning my self-efficacy increases because I believe that if others can do, I can also do it. Like Schunk(1991) claims that there is evidence that self-efficacy predicts academic achievement, this will develop the momentum of learning and a change of behavior that believing in self and own capability. Bandura (1977) said that efficacy affects the amount of effort and persistence that a person devotes to a task, this also emphasize that self-motivation and eagerness to achieve the goal. In any learning situation, we as students enter with distance learning with the sense of efficacy that is based on our abilities and past experiences in similar task. Our self-efficacy influences what we do, how hard we try and how long we persist throughout the learning program. Perhaps, we can use this EDS 103 Theories of learning to seek efficacy on how are we capable of doing the task together with other task outside academe.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-efficacy

https://www.verywell.com/what-is-self-efficacy-2795954

http://positivepsychology.org.uk/self-efficacy-definition-bandura-meaning/

Leave a Reply

